Restored Corals Observed Spawning For First Time In Waters Off Miami.

This article sheds some light on the restoration of Floridian coral reefs. What started as an attempt to slow down the decline of coral reefs soon helped restore many coral reefs. Scientists are doing everything they can to help push the reefs in order to help them replenish themselves. This article also mentioned how scientists are collecting eggs from coral reef colonies to help fertilize them. Scientists hope to restore 125 acres of degraded coral reefs which would help grow more than 150,000 coral colonies from five different coral species—three of these species are currently listed as threatened.

Reading this article gave me a lot of hope. I’m very excited that the efforts being made to preserve the coral reefs are actually working. I think that it is amazing that scientists are aiming to restore 125 acres of degraded coral reefs because it would help restore coral species that are on the verge of extinction. I also learned that coral reefs are essential for the well being of people because they help protect people and property from the effects of hurricanes. This is new information to me and I find it very interesting.

4 thoughts on “Restored Corals Observed Spawning For First Time In Waters Off Miami.

  1. I think it’s interesting that coral reefs can protect people from the effects of hurricanes – I had no idea about that either! I’m curious as to how they protect people. I think the problem of ocean acidification is becoming increasingly prevalent and I think that learning about how to restore coral reefs is vital to preserving many oceanic ecosystems.

  2. I hadn’t previously heard about the process of collecting and fertilizing eggs from the coral reefs so that was very interesting to read about and also made me feel hopeful that we will be able to restore them! Are these same techniques being applied elsewhere and have there been any major successes?

    • Hi! I’m sure there are similar techniques out there, but I haven’t heard of any yet. I’ll be on the look out though. Thank you so much for your comment!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *